You ALWAYS have a choice in EVERYthing you do.


The reason behind this post and thought is the fact that my mom is working. A lot. And eeevery time she comes home again, I have to hear all kinds of negative pep-talks about her colleagues and how stupid or childish they (almost) all are. And they really are. I’ve met some of them and observed some of the unjust situations my mom put herself in, and it leads me to ask… Wow, some of these people are unbelievable. How does this school still exist?

And of course this leads to stress which she is heavily affected by, which again leads to negativity and emotions running high in the living room.

But mom, you HAVE a choice. Now, when I say this to her (and I’ve kind of given up on it now), she argues that her house, her car, all of her thousands of small, soul sucking trinkets and hard-earned possessions are more important to her than her wellbeing. I’ve even offered that we get rid of the car and the house and move into a small, inexpensive flat so that she/we can afford to be jobless. She refuses and states that her wealth is more important. This is where I start to cry inside. I love my mom, and I do not wish to see her suffer… Oh, how she suffers.

But to all of you out there, who might be in similar situations… There is always a choice!

The ONLY thing standing between making the hard choice and not doing so, are your very own internal boundaries. Boundaries, norms, you might say, that western society keeps promoting with all of its nonsense advertising, marketing and childish propaganda. What’s the point? What do we get from this? What do we want from this?

Is it not happiness that we all seek? All desire? Know that happiness has nothing to do with external factors. Nothing at all. Happiness thrives and resides in your heart, moves to the rhythm of your own steady pulse, flows in your veins with the very blood that keep you alive, pulses to your brain with inspiring ideas and changes. Changes.

That is what it takes to make that decision of favoring your heart over the mind. Change the regime of Mind, to obey the pure wisdom of Heart. Accomplish this and I promise any psychiatrist will not have a better answer. For this is what it all comes down to. This is, scientifically speaking, how our genes are designed.

And even if you DO end up living like a hobo, so what? Millions of people do it on a daily basis. I’ve tried it. Even though it was just for one month, I have still learnt what modern society had failed to teach. To succeed at being houseless all boils down to having less boundaries and bigger creativity. These two factors will create the third element, motivation, so that you may never forget them later in life. When we let ourselves fill our actions and thoughts with the creativity that necessity creates, THEN you are ready to go back to the very thing you started with, and failed at; living a modern life with no sign of stress.

Have a very nice evening, and as always, thanks for reading. (:

6 thoughts on “You ALWAYS have a choice in EVERYthing you do.

  1. Your mom is a very lucky girl. To have you as a sounding board.

  2. shreejacob says:

    A well written post and I agree with what you’ve said. It’s kind of mind boggling if we really thought about it. Why the need to stay in big homes when a small flat would do? Maybe it’s because of the safety factor…but then it’s only because of mass consciousness…low cost homes = poor = unsafe that’s causing it..isn’t it?

    • Mind of Andy says:

      Yeah I think you’re on to something there, definitely :)
      The association between no money = poor = failure is for some people too much. Thank you for your always wonderful comments! (:

  3. myfoxycorner says:

    I totally understand where you are coming from. One thing I always keep in my mind is that I choose everything about how I feel. No matter what happens it is my choice to react or interpret things in a certain way. The only person responsible for my emotions is me

What's your opinion?

