Why are we not ready to die?


A respond to a troll comment:  Andy, I’ve got cancer, can you help me? 

Being no kind of a wonder child, I can of course not help him. Even if the fake situation he put himself in was to be true. But still, it got me thinking. Why do we fear death as much as we do? Why do so many people who get diagnosed with cancer fall into huge depressions? I don’t know. All I do now is that it is hard to enjoy life in all of its aspects, ups and downs, if you are not ready to die. At least so it is… or was for me.

For a couple of years now I have wondered what it would be like to have a “timer” on my death, like the cancer folks do. And ever since I started wondering, I’ve always wanted to try it. Not because I am in any way suicidal or that I hate my life. I love my life and maybe I want to know what it’d be like to have, say two years more. Because of the challenge. I love a good challenge. Could I still find happiness with a two-year counter on me? Now don’t get me wrong. As said, I don’t seek death – I just find it very, very interesting.

So what is it that we normally fear about it? Is it the emptiness? The thought of never getting to see our loved ones again? The uncertainty of it all? The pain? Some people cannot find a purpose with death, and this is maybe what’s triggering the fear in most. What’s the purpose of it?

Whenever we in our everyday live’s do something that has absolutely no purpose or perhaps the wrong purpose, we feel something negative inside. Something ulm and gray. We don’t like it. If there is no purpose then why am I doing this, one might think. Well, same thing goes with death for those, who naturally seek a purpose for everything in life. Only, the effect of not knowing the purpose is bigger than normally, but only because the event is way bigger than what we normally do. Dying is a pretty big deal, isn’t it?

So how can I help those who fear death due to uncertainty… Well, my best advice is to pick up a book about spiritualism. Pick it up, read it, question it, ridicule it. But no matter how much you make fun of it, you will still feel an urge, no matter how small it may be, to know more. Because a really good spiritual author or book will talk to your innermost desires. The desire to expand your mind, your horizon. (keep in mind that, like some business men, some “spiritualists” or self-proclaimed shamans will only try to earn money and thereby lead you to bullshit)

How can spiritualism open my horizons? It’s just a bunch of imaginary fairy tales, some might think.

Well.. what you will discover is that a lot of these theories and ideologies are actually based on the most basic psychology and biology. This you will have to discover for yourself, though.

SO! I will end this post in a minute, it got ahead of me already.

When you have woken up your interest for what lies beyond, I can only advice you to go out in the world, seek different cultures, different mindsets, try to find some people who have been “addicted” to spiritualism all of their live’s. I have had so many experiences that almost cannot be explained and believed with these wise people who I simply HAVE to believe in it now. There is no reason for me not to agree with it simply because the proof was given to me, when I was ready to receive it. Books -> adventure -> enlightenment. This was the formula, the path for me.

To wrap everything up: this new way of looking at life and death means that I now know that everything that happens, positive and negative, is there for us to learn from it. It’s there to challenge us so that we may grow, that we may keep expanding our minds. Even death is there for a reason. For me, reason is that my soul has its own will and is completely in charge of my life. It will simply choose when to pause its learning process, only to return in another body later. This may sound idiotic to some, but for me this is very, very calming to know.

Now I don’t fear death.

Later I will write about the experiences I’ve had that made it so clear for me.

Thanks for reading. Means a lot to me (:

Please keep writing questions about life, it is very educational for me. Very!

5 thoughts on “Why are we not ready to die?

  1. shreejacob says:

    Awesome post!! I like the lines where you say that your soul is in charge and when it’s time to pause learning, we exit this part of the journey and then resume when we have rested…in a different body.

    One other thing that people may fear of death is that as souls in this dimension we are still so caught up with our 5 senses and the material things…which we feel defines us and to lose that is to in essence lose everything. Which is why I sometimes wonder…is it scary not to be believe in souls…in a Source…because what else is there..to be born and then to disintegrate into nothing? That would make me fear death…

  2. Theresa says:

    Following my work with Hospice, I’ve found that most people fear death because of religious beliefs, along with being worried that their families will be okay after they are gone. For the former – if some folks are brought up with a very evangelical background, then they might fear the lake of fire that will probably be their home for eternity. Others would spare their families the heartache of losing them, and don’t like not being able to control what happens to their families without them. For the rest of us, the thought of not living is more frightening than dying.

What's your opinion?

