Andy’s Monthly Challenge #1


I’ve thought a lot about starting some sort of challenge-thingy. So here it is. These challenges will be fun (sometimes), exciting, hard and hopefully sense- and mind-developing.:) First off I challenge you to live like a physically challenged being. Be it 20 minutes – while eating a meal, or a whole day – if you don’t have any plans anyway. In a minute I will give you some examples, but first I want to explain why I challenge you to do this.

This is not just any kind of blog, and if you’re a follower of mine you will know that this blog is about us. People! My attempt to contribute to some of the biggest questions and problems a society filled with people like us has to deal with. And one of the “problems” is awareness. Too many people are not aware of what is going on all around them – in fact most of us only experience approximately 10-15% of the world. The other 90-85% is experienced by people who then again might not experience your 15%, but only theirs. Besides that, we have a physical and a psychological way of experiencing – mostly I’m all about altering the psychological way, but now it’s time for the physical. But it is unavoidable to develop our mind, when we develop our physics – and likewise. So please don’t complain when you discover that this challenge will develop your heart and mind, too ;)

All right! This is my attempt to expand that 10-15 percentage a little. (Now keep in mind that I’m not trying to develop pity for the ones who’s every single day is affected by this)

Here are some suggestions or “guidelines”:

-          Eat your meal, but blindfolded, sitting on the ground or with no cutlery. (This sounds a bit disgusting, but try to turn it into something fun!) I did all of these three a couple of times myself, so it IS tested ;) And if you have a family, then why not make some family fun out of this? I tried that once too.

-          Try, if you’re home alone with no plans for instance, to completely eliminate your hearing.

-          Try going to work blindfolded or “deaf”.

-          Or try to walk around and do everyday house chores blindfolded or with one hand at your back for a couple of hours.

These are just a small sample of what I could think of right now. Be free to make up your own and write a comment with what your idea is all about! :)

Rules:

-          Pick any of these or make up your own, and practice them for at least 20 minutes each month.

-          Post a comment with what you did and for how long.

And… that’s about it. :) Have fun with it!

I think I am going to try the home-alone-with-no-hearing – one :) What about you?

*I will be writing a completely new and fresh challenge the 1st of each month. Feel free to give me ideas etc.*

 

15 thoughts on “Andy’s Monthly Challenge #1

  1. leekirs1 says:

    I like the hand behind the back while doing chores idea, but it almost sounds too easy. Bet it isn’t, though. :) But, I think I will seriously injure myself if I do the blindfolded idea…maybe I will do both, at different times. I will let you know how that turns out. Just not wearing my glasses or contacts is a danger to myself and others.

  2. Wow that’s a really great idea and I am going to see if I can get the rest of my fam to try eating dinner on the floor(fun!)/eating with no vutlery! :D

  3. Hemal says:

    In India, most of us eat food without cutlery. Not really a challenge for us!

  4. I love the idea :) A friend of mine is vision impaired, so I decided on the blindfolded chalenge, here is to say that I am now in awe of her. The first thing that I tried to do was to get dressed. Oh my golly was that hard. I wished that I had at least thaught to pick some clothes out first. Turns out i can not identify my clothing by feeling alone (who’d have thunk it?) After that train wreck was over a good 15 minutes later I decided that it would then be a good idea to try applying make up, but I soon gave up on that when I couldn’t get to my bathroom (turns out that there is alot more hazardous crap than I thaught there was) :p After stubbing my toe on what felt like a brick wall (which turned out to be my bookshelf in the office) I retired early, thanking everyone out there that I am able to see.

  5. soumyav says:

    thanks for visiting my blog and liking it! Its great to see your posts and read about something which isnt frequently thought or written. As for today’s challenge ,I think this exercise or challenge would make us more compassionate about the people who actually are devoid of any such senses. it would actually bring us closer to the way they perceive life and develop their sixth sense.

  6. Dee says:

    This is a great idea Andy. The idea of trying to live a day like I can not see interesting one. By the way I had the chance this last month to work with one arm. I hurt my shoulder and the doctor limited my motion with a sling. I found out that I am not good at asking for help. This was extremely tiresome. I was so glad to get the sling off. But I learned that I have more people who care about me than I thought. Thanks for the challenge! :)

  7. kidnamedtev says:

    As soon as i saw this i ran and heated up my dinner. Attempted to do the “eating while blindfolded” one. I blindfolded myself and ate without cutlery, i tried to do it before my mum came out the shower, but i was caught red handed.. Mum screamed top of her lungs lol i made a complete mess off the kitchen and food all over my face..theres rice and gravy everywhere. It was fun though….i’ll try to do it when she isnt home and record it..

  8. Margarita says:

    Very good suggestions, Andy. Since we live in a world of physical perception, this is an excellent starting point for shifting perception. Thank you!

What's your opinion?

