Andy on God – A Realistic View



I do believe in a greater something, yes. But I’m definitely not religious, nor an atheist.

I believe in Buddha, Jesus and Mohammed as much as I believe in Attila the Hun, Caesar and Alexander the Great – simply because of years and years of research. (Not by me, though) ;)

If you don’t believe in any of the religious guys, then give this thought a… thought:

If it is possible to gather an army of thousands and thousands and bring them all the way from Mongolia to the borders of the Roman Empire – If it is possible to kill, rape and enslave millions of people – and if it is possible to be undefeatable in combat like all of these war-“heroes” were (of course everything comes to and end). - Then how can one doubt the contrary? How can atheists who believe so strongly in evidence doubt that a few men took the other way, and conquered their egos instead of their neighbors?

The whole life is build upon millions of contrasts, and yet many people believe more in war-”gods” than they do in “peace-gods”.

Getting to a Conclusion

I don’t believe that there is some kind of big dude in the sky. I don’t believe that a big tortoise arose from the sea with Earth on its back. And I really don’t believe that I’ll get that much laid when I die a noble death, as the Islamic believers do.

I don’t believe that Jesus could walk on water, and I don’t believe any of the unnatural things going on at the pages of almost any religious script.

Think about how the news and government fail to bring 100 % honest news on a daily basis. Think of how journalists twist and bend the stories, just so they can get a broader audience. It’s naive to think that they were any more honest at back in the days.

What I DO believe is that some dedicated men decided to do some soul-searching for once, and trough that, found the meaning of how we should live to become one with each other. Do you know anything about the Dalai Lama, Gandhi or John Lennon? If you do, you will know how amazing human beings they are/were– in reality just other versions of Buddha, Jesus and Mohammed I would say. And I think they would have been given the same status as Jesus had, if they’d just lived 2000 years ago instead of now. The only difference is that we’re watching too many movies to be impressed nowadays. Back then, a cow walking backwards could amaze anyone.

Andy’s Final Conclusion

Up above, I highlighted the answer. Yes, to become one with each other is my definition of God and every other god… well not the war-gods – just the peaceful, mature ones.

To me, God is not a person, spark of energy or a… god. It’s the description of a rational and spiritual state of mind – one that can be achieved by everyone, and one that is complete when everyone understands and practices it.

Think of how athletes train, train and train their bodies to achieve a god-like strength and agility. The mind functions exactly the same way. Train, train, train and you will achieve limitless love and compassion.

It’s funny with those contrasts. They are everywhere, and yet we almost don’t notice them. As Yoda from Star Wars would have said: “in balance, they must be”

 

So how do we get to that state of awareness – how do I get unlimited love?

It is quite simple, actually – pointing it out that is. Living it out is of course way harder. I’m going to let a “a-little-hard-to-swallow-in-one-bite” – quote from M. J. Keenan explain this:

 “If you look at the cycles of the moon, it starts as a thin crescent and then gradually grows and becomes full; then it gradually fades back into another crescent and then is gone. The moon reflects sunlight like humans reflect information. We grow and fade and when we become full moons, our egos are full. We think we have this knowledge when, in fact, the information we have is pure. And it reflects or shines off of us, is something we take credit for as though the moon could take credit for the light it reflects from the sun. We have to understand that we are egoless, just as the moon is without light. It and we are simply reflectors. The ego is not responsible for the information.”

I think the last three lines really hit the head of the nail. (Correct me if I’m wrong)

By treading one step backwards – being humble – we create an opportunity for other people to shine. And we all want to see shiny things, right? ;)

It’s funny how you in this case could compare how egocentric people could be equipped with a mirror – they have their own world, their own mirror and their own shiny body to gaze upon. But they’re still in the front, making the shimmering too strong and therefore they blind themselves. They can’t see the needs of others because they’ve been feeding their ego with itself – and not their fellow beings. So they end up unsatisfied and maybe even lonely – all because they didn’t take that one step back.

May the force be your aide in taking that step!

Do you have any opinion, question or just something to add to this? You’re most welcome to do so below! :D

176 thoughts on “Andy on God – A Realistic View

  1. lonepebble says:

    great to read your thoughts on spirituality andy! i like the way your mind works and i think these are things that all of us have thought at some point or the other. i believe the highest point of spirituality is not finding the truth (for instance, finding a religion you’re satisfied with) but discovering that you can love others despite the differences through the universal language of basic of human rights.
    and by the way, thanks for stopping by my blog and liking some of the stuff! you were the first person to view and like my new-born blog and i’ll remember that :)

  2. rebeccavt says:

    Thank you for liking my blog entry on “Enlightenment in Every Day”! Your entry above voices my core beliefs regarding religion and spirituality. Love your writing style…you’re quite talented!

  3. Right there with you, Andy! The world could do with a whole lot more love and humility. And it can be found in so many places, why limit ourselves to one worldview? Like what you stand for :)

  4. ‘Back then, a cow walking backwards could amaze anyone.’ Don’t knock it, this used to be good entertainment.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Consider reading The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins.

  6. agporter says:

    I do have to commend you on being brave enough to speak about your view on religion. Most of us are afraid to speak out for fear of backlash. However, some of what you said made me cringe just a little and I mean that as nicely as I can. I am a Christain, Saved and Born Again, so I can’t agree with there being “no big dude in the sky”.
    To me, there is one God and to be with Him in enternity I must accept Jesus as my Savior. He is the only way to the Father. I believe there were other teachers, but Jesus is the only way. That is what the Bible teaches us, which leads me to my next point.
    I think sometimes people try to rationalize things to a fault. Yes, the Bible was written by man, but people tend to forget it was Inspired by the Holy Spirit. If we can believe in being spiritual then why is it hard to accept the fact that the Bible isn’t as flawed as people think?
    I understand that books were taken out and there are those that believe it was a mistake riddled book. Or they think that it isn’t complete. That is why I don’t fully depend on what other people tell me. I lean on God and His Word. I have faith that what is in the Bible is true. I believe that it was written as a guide book for us while we are on Earth.
    Please don’t think that I am trying to bash your post; I think you have made many points and your intentions are honest. But if you are open to religious views from other people then I hope you are open to mine. Also, I just want you to know that I am praying for you in your spiritual journey, Andy. I hope to hear from you soon!

    • Mind of Andy says:

      Well, what I seek IS actually backslash, because that is the only true way to learn new stuff :)

      I respect your belief a 100% and I don’t think anyone could have made a softer disagreement than you.
      I hope that you use your belief exclusively to help others, but I think you have no intention of doing anything else than that :)
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us all.
      Have a great day, and thank again!

  7. heartflow2012 says:

    Here, Andy, is a quote from Nisargadatta: “The sum and substance of spirituality is nothing but to come to a decision, make a judgment, about the Self, God and the world – what is it? You must first dispose of this question. This world is filled up with selfishness due to your association with the body. Once you know what these principles are, then you dissolve the the personality, and in the process that selfishness vanishes because you are no more an individual.”

    Of course some of these statements could trigger reactions, such as: if I dissolve my personality and am no longer an individual, I’ll be a zombie etc. My experience is, however, that my personality is still available when I need it, and I can act like an individual when it is suitable and doesn’t harm anyone, but I am no longer run by them. When I see that “my” body is one of many bodies that are contained in consciousness, then my identification with just “this” body ceases and “becoming one with each other” is then the natural state.

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I like the path you are on.

  8. Sven says:

    excellent piece, Andy. I have a feeling you would enjoy Neale Donald Walsh’s book, Conversations with God.

  9. inkdamage says:

    You Intrigue me, Andy.

  10. mytiturk says:

    Your mind and heart are pure. Well said, Andy. Single-celled organisms surrendered their “egos” and thereby evolved into successful multi-celled organisms. The most selfish of us must now, for our own human well-being, learn from humbler human civilizations and even from the tiniest of living things.

  11. yepirategunn says:

    Great post Andy, and I appreciate your thoughts and research. Some information presented in the comments puzzles me Jesus was not the first ‘prophet’ -Zoroaster was,- 1,000 years before Jesus also, and if you look at Zoroaster’s Avestas, you’ll find amazing similarity with what Jesus was supposed to preach, and considering research concludes that some passages in the bible were written 400 years after his death, then the ”supposed to” takes on greater meaning. I think your research was very good Andy, and again shows that faith is just not enough. Its great having faith, but it needs to be founded on a solid base.
    When we look at history, we can see what religion did when it was in charge: no thank you.
    bionicdee122 is right – why 1 God? It is actually not feasible, given that people from different faiths would have written just about the same as those who wrote the comments above. In Islam one does not get 72 virgins in ‘heaven’. That is an error, probably deliberate, by both fundamentalists seeking followers and zealous .persons from our Western religion. The passage refers to grapes and the word is very similar,
    Thanks Andy, and dear fellow commentators and converters – study!

  12. Sarah Thomas says:

    Andy, I appreciate your honesty in sharing your feelings about religion. You have voiced your dissent gently and thoughtfully. I would point out, however, that you simply can’t group Jesus in with all those other folks you mention. No one is another version of Jesus and He was very clear that believing in Him excludes belief in anyone else.

    C.S. Lewis did a very nice job of explaining this in Mere Christianity. It’s an excellent book and I highly recommend it.

    “I am trying here to prevent anyone saying the really foolish thing that people often say about Him: ‘I’m ready to accept Jesus as a great moral teacher, but I don’t accept His claim to be God.’ That is the one thing we must not say. A man who was merely a man and said the sort of things Jesus said would not be a great moral teacher. He would either be a lunatic–on the level with the man who says he is a poached egg–or else he would be the Devil of Hell. You must make your choice. Either this man was, and is, the Son of God: or else a madman or something worse. You can shut Him up for a fool, you can spit at Him and kill Him as a demon; or you can fall at His feet and call Him Lord and God. But let us not come with any patronizing nonsense about His being a great human teacher. He has not left that open to us. He did not intend to.”

    • Mind of Andy says:

      But that is, however, what I believe. Just as you believe that he had no match in significance.

      And very interesting excerpt by the way. I will defniitely have a closer look at that :)
      Thanks!

  13. Pamela Hodgdon says:

    It has never been important to me whether Jesus is the son of God or not. He probably was a great prophet, like the others. I’ve always believed in God, because I see him when I wake and hear the birds or when I see the sun set. I believe God resides in me and all I have to do is listen.

  14. Stephanie Raffelock says:

    Andy, too bad there wasn’t a “love this” button on your blog. I would have clicked that instead of “like.”

  15. Estelle_0630 says:

    How very courageous of you to blog on theology. Overall, a emotional subject, overriden with irrational thoughts. Most cannot remove their own irrational thoughts from fact.
    Myself, I can only believe in science and in that, I’m finding God is in every atom, molecule and sub atomic particle, including within each of us.
    He is the Peace, Love and Joy that I find more and more, the deeper I meditate. (Not the loathing, hate, condemnation or ridicule I’ve witnessed so much of)
    Namaste!

  16. Tanav Lavitra says:

    Your views are really very good. I am a believer. I believe that there is a god(Not the big dude in sky). He is present in us all.

  17. torivictoria says:

    Thanks for sharing your opinions and allowing us to comment.

    What I know is that God is real and His son is Jesus Christ. The difference between Jesus and the other, Mohammed, Lennon etc those you have mentioned, is that whether we believe it not, want it or not, sin or not, every eye shall see Jesus and kneel before Him, without being forced by anyone. When he does come back you won’t need the press, internet or broadcasting studios to inform us. Each individual will know its him. There won’t be any rumours about it, there will be just the real thing going on.

    All those Prophets you mentioned died a long time ago after Jesus and they are lying in their graves until a day when Jesus will tell them to come out. None of these prophets rose again.

    If you were watching Israel and what’s happening around the world, you would know that what Jesus (not Mohammed or Lennon or other great prophets said) is coming to pass, and there is nothing no-one can do about it or change it in anyway.

    Lastly, the greatest person you know on earth including the Egyptian Gods, our Royals, Presidents etc, they shall all bow down and worship Jesus Christ when he returns. Everything that has a knee will also bow, that will include animals as well, for instance just to name one tiny one; an Ant! will bow down before the Lord.

    It’s so sad that for others it will be too late, but many will come out of tribulation accepting that Jesus Christ is Lord and will be saved, these are those who dwell on “seeing is believing”.

    There is just one more thing. Just before Jesus appears, the stars will fall off from the skies, the moon will be darkened and the Sun will stop. And guess what that means? it means the whole world globally will be on the same time zone. So, when He appears, he will be the only light existing in the skies and there will be no more talk, arguments or rumours concerning who is Lord and God.

    • Mind of Andy says:

      Aaall right, firs off: No problem! :)
      Secondly: it’s a very interesting thought/vision, but I’m not quite agrreing wih you… yet!

      I’m looking forward to the day it happens, if I live to experience it, and if it is true. So far no one can exclude anything..
      Thanks for a long and intriguing comment :)

      • torivictoria says:

        I love your point of view. Yes, you will definitely see it happen, the stage is almost complete. Hopefully we will still be around to continue this conversation in the aftermath, but my prayer is that I don’t miss the first flight. Cheers.

  18. I am so glad you expressed your heart about someone you don’t know yet. I didn’t know Him either. He is not a religion, and He is not a big dude in the sky. I found all that out when I sat one night and argued with a book that I was reading. What I read said, ” You don’t have to believe all the stuff you read, opinions of man, what ever one else says about the Man called Jesus…but you do have to believe you are a sinner, and that God the Father of us all, sent His only Son to pay the price of sin, (all sin) so you don’t have to pay it.. Believe that Jesus loves you, personally, enough to die in your place so you can be reconciled to the One who made you.,,and ask Jesus to come into your heart and make your life pleasing to Father and believe He did it and you shall be saved and begin a new life.” I didn’t believe in any god at the time…but I prayed that as a personal prayer and said, “I believe that Jesus did die for me/sin and I want want to know the truth.” My life changed immediately. I knew immediately that it was true and I heard a voice speak to me saying: “I will never leave you, nor forsake you. You are mine and I AM yours.” Believing is a relationship with my Creator who lives in my heart, not out there in the kosmos…. I had never read a bible, never been to church and didn’t know anyone who did. But Truth revealed Himself to me that day and has been revealing Himself to me everyday since.
    P.S. God is spirit and they who BELIEVE must believe for themself to receive the Spirit of Truth. Life is worth the living in Spirit and Truth!

  19. sandrabranum says:

    Some could say Science is a form of religion. I like to think of God as a rainbow and believe if we’d had mass communication way back when, we’d have had Rock Stars as gods instead of them just thinking that way. Great post.

  20. Beautifully written and very wise. Kudos, great job!

  21. bionicdee122 says:

    I figured since you liked one of the posts on my blog I’d check yours out and I’m glad I did. I always tell people I’m agnostic, I believe in something just not organized religion. No one knows what really happened back then because religious books are all someone else’s opinion. The way the Greeks, Romans and Egyptians defined things always made more sense to me. Multiple gods if anything. I believe there’s something out there, I’m just not sure it’s one instead of many. Great, great post!

  22. Mind of Andy says:

    Haha, awesome quote from John! :D
    Thank you so much for writing your positive thoughts down and hitting the Post Comment – button!
    Thanks! :)

  23. insurgoblog says:

    Andy, Really liked this post and your writing style! Your book will be great!

  24. Jibu Elias says:

    Andy, I agree with your thoughts. Since you mentioned John Lenon, there is famous quote :
    “Jesus was alright but his disciples were thick and ordinary. It’s them twisting it that ruins it for me”

    It seems people need something all the time..to be afraid of or to wonder about. Like you mentioned the War – God, I have to point out the existance of more popular form the God with vengence.

    Any way keep the good work, and btw thanks for the like on my post, other wise I would have missed such a good blog (your blog)..Keep in touch and all the best

What's your opinion?

